On the Mend

It’s been a rough week for me. I was watching the Oscars at my mother-in-law’s place on Sunday and I started to feel cold. This slowly degraded into full on goosebumps and cold chills. As we drove home, I started to also add nausea to the list of symptoms. I decided to stay home Monday to ride it out but the symptoms only got worse. Tuesday exposed the full brunt of the disease and also marked the day when Jo herself came down with it as well.

To make a long story short, I’ve spent the whole week cooped up in my apartment unable to do much of anything. I couldn’t even go out for dinner on my birthday, run across the street to buy the new NIN DVD on release day, or eat Indian take-out that Jo brought home. Also, sitting at the computer is possible only in short stints (hence the lack of posting this week).

My proposed party to celebrate my birthday with some good friends was also pushed back a week as I’m still in no shape to go out, let alone drink a beer or see a movie.

Anyways, I am feeling a little better today thanks to a late night discovery that may have been impeding my recovery. I awoke at 3 am sweating like crazy; something that has happened often since I got sick. But unlike the other times when I just tried to go back to sleep, this time I got up, dried off, changed my clothes and got a nice fresh warm blanket. I fell back to sleep without any trouble and woke up for the first time this week without shivering. I believe that I had sweat like that a lot during the week, but never fully woke up. As the room chilled thanks to the zero degree weather (and our rather heat-lossy apartment) the sheets became like ice and my body temperature would go down.

Anyways, I’m feeling partially better today, but I am glad I’ve already dropped all of my scheduled appointments for the weekend to focus on getting better and getting back to work. There are only so many things you can do at home to entertain yourself before you start falling into the deep abyss of boredom.

2 Responses to “On the Mend”

  1. Kevin Says:

    Well Mike… I finally decided to post comments again.

    I’m alive. I’m still – physically – in one piece. That’s great news, eh? Other than that… Meh. Sucks that you’re sick, and can’t have food and stuff. Being away from the computer?? Ugh!

  2. Rob Says:

    Sucks to hear, that sounds tremendously s***y. Next week it’ll have to be. Looking forward to it. Hopefully you’ll be feeling good enough to get some (work) done.


Leave a Reply

