A Return to Form

Josée and I on our wedding dayIt has been much too long since my last post, and hopefully I won’t begin any more posts like this for a while.

I figured that it has been so long that it was time for a change. The site has been relocated to WordPress for no other reason than boredom with Blogger. I suppose the idea of new themes to use was another incentive though. The one you are currently looking at was the best all-round showing but I think if you have the time and the patience, playing with the CSS on Blogger might give better results. Personally, I wanted clarity first and fancy stuff second.

The name of the site (Year Zero) is actually stolen from the forthcoming Nine Inch Nails record to be released on April 17th. I felt it was fitting since I was basically rebooting my website to start over. Well, that was the original intent. I found that WordPress was able to port over all my entries and comments from Blogspot without any effort so I figured a port was suitable.

Anyways, I’ve got a lot to update here so I’m going to get right to it.

  • I got married (to an accountant!)
  • I moved into a new apartment (with a view!)
  • I finished my degree (Computer Engineering!)
  • I got a job at Intrinsyc Software (where I coop-ed!)

There, that was easy!

So I’m honestly interested again in keeping this thing up to date with little burst entries. There will most likely be less political and more of a media/movies/tv focus. I will also detail my foray into digital photography as I plan to buy a digital SLR camera soon.

This camera is not without a reason of course. Jo and I are planning to fly to London in late April and then spend a week there and also one week in Paris. We are then going to fly home via Toronto so we can spend a week with her family and also meet up with Craig and Naomi for a weekend.

Such a vacation cannot, in my opinion, be properly preserved without the best media collection technology. I was almost ready to pull the trigger on an Sony HDR-HC5 when I realized that I would probably not be able to use it enough to make the investment worthwhile… at least until we start making babies. (And no, that will not be this year if I have anything to say about it!)

Instead, a digital SLR will be much more useful as I intend to make it into a full-on hobby outside of work. I needed something to do and a forum to showcase it so a camera and a revamped blog with Flickr integration seemed like a good choice.

So there. A post. Enjoy.

Feel free to leave some comments and let me know what you think of the new layout. It may get “tweaked” a few times as I work out the kinks. If you want to be added to the blogroll, just forward me your URL and I’ll see what I can do.

Cheers

One Response to “A Return to Form”

  1. Jay Says:

    welcome back to the blog world! 🙂


Leave a Reply

